P&TS
P&TS

P&TS - Home
About P&TS
Services patents trademarks designs semi-conductors software patents patent intelligence defensive publications legal advice conferences
Download section
Search
 Search
Home | Contact | News | Links | Webmail | Sitemap
F / D
Services

software patents



Few domains of intellectual property have given rise to as many concerns and misunderstandings as the question of software patentability. At P&TS, we follow very closely the evolution of the jurisprudence on this question which we have made into one of our favorite specialties.

Computer programs are protected without any formalities by copyright, in the same manner as works of art. Copyright however protects only the program's code, independently from its function. A program executing the same algorithm but implemented with a different series of instructions will thus generally not be considered an infringement of the copyright, unless it is a literal transcompilation (re-writing the program in a different computer language).

The legislation of several countries furthermore provides for copyright protection of flux diagrams underlying a program or for certain elements of the graphical interface of the program (data display, original icons, menu titles etc.). The conditions are often rather strict and it is necessary to verify on a case by case basis with the assistance of a specialist which elements of a program are protected in which country.




Most states accept nowadays the patentability of software and computer programs. The protection obtained is generally wider than that given by copyright since a patent can protect the function achieved by a software, independently from the code. In Europe, it is however necessary for the program to have a technical effect. The patentability is furthermore dependent on the specific wording of the claims.

The USA have adopted a more liberal approach and also grant patents for software implementing in fact business methods.




© P&TS 2003-2014

P&TS
P&TS

P&TS, Home
Über P&TS
Leistungen Patent Marken Designs Halbleiter Computerprogramme Patentrecherchen Defensiv-Veröffentlichungen Rechtsbeistand Konferenzen
Dokumentation
Suchen
 Suchen
Home | Kontakt | News | Links | Webmail | Übersicht
F / E
Leistungen

Computerprogramme




Fast kein anderes Gebiet des geistigen Eigentums hat zu so vielen Missverständnissen geführt wie die Frage des Schutzes von Software. Bei P&TS verfolgen wir die Evolution der Jurisprudenz in dieser Sache genauestens, da wir dieses Fachgebiet zu einer unserer bevorzugten Spezialitäten gemacht haben.

Computerprogramme werden ähnlich Kunstwerken ohne Formalitäten durch Urheberrecht geschützt. Allerdings schützt das Urheberrecht nur den Programmierkode unabhängig von seiner Funktion. Ein Programm, welches denselben Algorithmus aber mit einer anderen Serie von Instruktionen durchführt, wird generell nicht als eine Verletzung des Urheberrechtes angesehen, ausser es handle sich um eine Transkompilation (Neuschreiben des Programmes in einer anderen Programmiersprache).
Die Gesetzgebung einiger Länder erlaubt zudem einen Urheberrechtsschutz von Flussdiagrammen, welche dem Programm unterliegen, oder von gewissen Elementen der grafischen Oberfläche des Programmes (wie Daten Display, originale Ikons, Menütitel usw.).




Die Bedingungen sind oft sehr strikt und es ist nötig von Fall zu Fall mit Hilfe eines Spezialisten zu entscheiden, welche Teile eines Programmes in welchem Land geschützt sind.

Die meisten Staaten erlauben heutzutage die Patentierbarkeit von Computerprogrammen. Der so erworbene Schutz ist im Allgemeinen breiter als derjenige vom Urheberrecht, weil ein Patent die von einer Software ausgeführten Funktionen unabhängig vom Programmkode schützen kann. In Europa ist es allerdings nötig, dass das Programm einen technischen Effekt hat. Die Patentierbarkeit hängt ausserdem vom gewählten Wortlaut der Ansprüche ab.

Die USA nehmen eine liberalere Haltung ein und erteilen auch Patente für Geschäftsmethoden (Business Method).



© P&TS 2003-2014