P&TS
P&TS

P&TS - Home
About P&TS
Services patents conditions for obtaining patents economic role audit patentability analysis patent in Switzerland european patent PCT patent application provisional applications national applications how much time is necessary for obtaining a patent ? how are patents drafted ? costs trademarks designs semi-conductors software patents patent intelligence defensive publications legal advice conferences
Download section
Search
 Search
Home | Contact | News | Propis | Links | Webmail | Sitemap
F / D
Services

conditions for obtaining a patent



Inventions that are new, involve an inventive activity and that are capable of industrial applicability can be protected for a maximal duration of 20 years by means of patents.

The invention can for example consist of a new product, a method, a manufacturing process etc. The criteria of novelty is absolute; any public disclosure of the invention, even orally and made by the inventor, prevents it from being subsequently patented. It is thus essential that the invention should remain absolutely confidential until the patent application has been filed and that it should not be disclosed to anyone except under written Confidentiality Agreement.

The invention should not be commonplace and should not be obtainable by an obvious thought process. However, the inventive activity required for securing a patent is limited; great inventions are rare, and technological progress is usually a matter of small successive steps. When such an advancement, even a relatively simple one, brings a competitive advantage to its initiator, the company should consider the possibility of monopolizing it by a patent or any other appropriate type of protection.




The industrial applicability can be realized in any type of industry, including agriculture. However, methods of surgical treatment, of therapy and of medical diagnostics are not judged to be applicable industrially and are thus excluded from patent protection. Discoveries, scientific theories, aesthetic creations, game rules, economic activities, the presentation of information etc. are generally not considered to be inventions.




© P&TS 2003-2014

P&TS
P&TS

P&TS, Home
Über P&TS
Leistungen Patent Voraussetzungen für die Erlangung Wirtschaftliche Rolle Audit Patentierbarkeitsanalyse Schweizer Patentanmeldungen Europäische Patentanmeldungen PCT Anmeldungen Provisorische Anmeldungen Nationale Anmeldungen Wie lange ist die Zeitspanne bis zur Erteilung eines Patents ? Wie werden Patente verfasst ? Kosten Marken Designs Halbleiter Computerprogramme Patentrecherchen Defensiv-Veröffentlichungen Rechtsbeistand Konferenzen
Dokumentation
Suchen
 Suchen
Home | Kontakt | News | Links | Webmail | Übersicht
F / E
Leistungen

Voraussetzungen für die Erteilung von Patenten




Neue Erfindungen, die eine erfinderische Tätigkeit aufweisen und sich für eine industrielle Anwendbarkeit eignen, können mittels Patenten während maximal 20 Jahren geschützt werden.

Die Erfindung kann zum Beispiel aus einem neuen Produkt, einer Methode, einem Herstellungsverfahren usw. bestehen. Die Voraussetzung der Neuheit gilt absolut: jede Offenbarung der Erfindung, sogar mündlich und durch den Erfinder selbst, verhindert eine nachmalige Patentierbarkeit. Es ist daher unabdingbar, dass die Erfindung absolut vertraulich bleibt, bis das Patent eingereicht wird.

Die Erfindung sollte nicht banal und durch einen offensichtlichen Gedankengang erreichbar sein. Die zur Erlangung eines Patentes nötige erfinderische Tätigkeit ist jedoch moderat; ausserordentliche Erfindungen sind die Ausnahme und der technologische Fortschritt besteht aus kleinen sukzessiven Schritten. Falls solch eine sogar relativ kleine Neuerung einen Wettbewerbsvorteil einbringt, sollte die Firma die Möglichkeit der Monopolisierung durch ein Patent oder irgend eine andere Schutzmassnahme des Schutzes in Betracht ziehen.




Die industrielle Anwendbarkeit kann in jeder Art von Industrie auch in der Landwirtschaft realisiert werden. Methoden in der Chirurgie, Therapie und medizinischen Diagnose werden nicht als industrielle Anwendungen eingestuft und sind daher vom Patentschutz ausgeschlossen. Entdeckungen, wissenschaftliche Theorien, ästhetische Kreationen, Spielregeln, wirtschaftliche Aktivitäten, die Präsentation von Information usw. gelten normalerweise nicht als Erfindungen.



© P&TS 2003-2014