Software patents

Software patents

Few domains of intellectual property have given rise to as many concerns and misunderstandings as the question of software patentability. At P&TS, we follow very closely the evolution of the jurisprudence on this question which we have made into one of our favorite specialties.

Computer programs are protected without any formalities by copyright, in the same manner as works of art. Copyright however protects only the program’s code, independently from its function. A program executing the same algorithm but implemented with a different series of instructions will thus generally not be considered an infringement of the copyright, unless it is a literal transcompilation (re-writing the program in a different computer language).

The legislation of several countries furthermore provides for copyright protection of flux diagrams underlying a program or for certain elements of the graphical interface of the program (data display, original icons, menu titles etc.).

Software is protected by copyright from the date of its conception, without any registration being necessary. In case of conflict, the onus of proving that the software was conceived prior to the infringer’s creation lies with the author. A strict management of the successive versions of the software will enable the author to prove down the line which parts of the code were conceived on what date, it is thus essential if it becomes necessary to defend against illegal copies.

The conditions are often rather strict and it is necessary to verify on a case by case basis with the assistance of a specialist which elements of a program are protected in which country.

Most states accept nowadays the patentability of software and computer programs. The protection obtained is generally wider than that given by copyright since a patent can protect the function achieved by a software, independently from the code. For third parties, patents have the advantage of being searchable in order to determine the freedom to operate. In Europe, as in Switzerland, it is however necessary for the program to have a technical effect. The patentability is furthermore dependent on the specific wording of the claims.

The USA have adopted a more liberal approach and also grant patents for software implementing in fact business methods

Patents are not confined only to proprietary software; in fact, many programs distributed under open source licences are also protected by patents. These patents may even prove indispensable, in addition to copyright, to guarantee that the particular conditions of the open source licences are complied with.

Software patents are also not solely the preserve of leading software producers or multinationals; many SMEs as well as start-ups consider patents to be crucial to prevent their developments from being copied without compensation by companies better placed to distribute them quickly and on a large scale.

CONTACT

logo P&TS Intellectual Property

Contact P&TS

logiciel droit d'auteurPrograming
spécialiste du brevet logiciel

Patente für Software

Software/Computerprogramme

Fast kein anderes Gebiet des geistigen Eigentums hat zu so vielen Missverständnissen geführt wie die Frage des Schutzes von Software. Bei P&TS verfolgen wir die Evolution der Jurisprudenz in dieser Sache genauestens, da wir dieses Fachgebiet zu einer unserer bevorzugten Spezialitäten gemacht haben.

Computerprogramme werden ähnlich Kunstwerken ohne Formalitäten durch Urheberrecht geschützt. Allerdings schützt das Urheberrecht nur den Programmierkode unabhängig von seiner Funktion. Ein Programm, welches denselben Algorithmus aber mit einer anderen Serie von Instruktionen durchführt, wird generell nicht als eine Verletzung des Urheberrechtes angesehen, ausser es handle sich um eine Transkompilation (Neuschreiben des Programmes in einer anderen Programmiersprache). Die Gesetzgebung einiger Länder erlaubt zudem einen Urheberrechtsschutz von Flussdiagrammen, welche dem Programm unterliegen, oder von gewissen Elementen der grafischen Oberfläche des Programmes (wie Daten Display, originale Ikons, Menütitel usw.).

Die Bedingungen sind oft sehr strikt und es ist nötig von Fall zu Fall mit Hilfe eines Spezialisten zu entscheiden, welche Teile eines Programmes in welchem Land geschützt sind.

Die meisten Staaten erlauben heutzutage die Patentierbarkeit von Computerprogrammen. Der so erworbene Schutz ist im Allgemeinen breiter als derjenige vom Urheberrecht, weil ein Patent die von einer Software ausgeführten Funktionen unabhängig vom Programmkode schützen kann.

Für Dritte haben Patente den Vorteil, dass sie durchsuchbar sind und dass so die Handlungsfreiheit eruiert werden kann.

In Europa und auch der Schweiz ist es allerdings nötig, dass das Programm einen technischen Effekt hat. Die Patentierbarkeit hängt ausserdem vom gewählten Wortlaut der Ansprüche ab.

Die USA nehmen eine liberalere Haltung ein und erteilen auch Patente für Geschäftsmethoden („patents for business methods“).

Patente beschränken sich keinesfalls nur auf proprietäre Software; tatsächlich sind viele unter Open-Source-Lizenzen vertriebene Programme auch durch Patente geschützt. Zusätzlich zum Urheberrechtsschutz könnten sich diese Patente als unentbehrlich erweisen, um zu garantieren, dass spezifischen Bedingungen der Open-Source Lizenzen befolgt werden.

Softwarepatente sind auch nicht ausschliesslich die Domäne von führenden Softwareproduzenten oder Grossunternehmen: Viele KMU und Start-ups sehen in Patenten einen essentiellen Schutz ihrer Entwicklungen vor dem unentgeltlichen Kopieren durch Unternehmen mit schnelleren und grösseren Vertriebsmöglichkeiten.

CONTACT

logo P&TS Intellectual Property

Contact P&TS

logiciel droit d'auteurPrograming
spécialiste du brevet logiciel