Conditions for obtaining a patent

Conditions for obtaining a patent

Inventions that are new, involve an inventive activity and that are capable of industrial applicability can be protected for a maximal duration of 20 years by means of patents.

The invention can for example consist of a new product, a method, a manufacturing process etc. The criteria of novelty is absolute; any public disclosure of the invention, even orally and made by the inventor, prevents it from being subsequently patented. It is thus essential that the invention should remain absolutely confidential until the patent application has been filed and that it should not be disclosed to anyone except under written Confidentiality Agreement. The invention should not be commonplace and should not be obtainable by an obvious thought process. However, the inventive activity required for securing a patent is limited; great inventions are rare, and technological progress is usually a matter of small successive steps. When such an advancement, even a relatively simple one, brings a competitive advantage to its initiator, the company should consider the possibility of monopolizing it by a patent or any other appropriate type of protection.

The industrial applicability can be realized in any type of industry, including agriculture. However, methods of surgical treatment, of therapy and of medical diagnostics are not deemed to be applicable industrially and are thus excluded from patent protection. Discoveries, scientific theories, aesthetic creations, game rules, economic activities, the presentation of information etc. are generally not considered to be inventions.

Software as such cannot be protected in Europe; jurisprudence has however evolved so that many inventions implementing computer programs may now be the object of valid patents in Europe.
The structure of a patent is subjected to rather strict rules. In general, a patent will comprise the following component parts:

An abstract, that allows the patent to be found more easily, especially in a database.

A description, generally comprising one or several figures and describing in detail and in a technical language an embodiment of the invention. The description should allow the one skilled in the art to reconstitute the invention.
A set of claims, defining in a more legal language the sought scope of protection, which generally encompasses the embodiment indicated in the description as well as other possible variant embodiments that could be adopted by competitors. The published application or patent further comprises a title page containing bibliographical indications.

The claims

For the applicant, the claims constitute the most important part of the patent. The scope of protection granted is determined by the claims and it is thus the wording of the claims that will determine whether a competing product constitutes an infringement of the patent.

A set of claims generally comprises at least one independent (or main) claim as well as several dependent (or auxiliary) claims. Claim 1 is always an independent claim. The dependent claims always refer to an independent claim or to another dependent claim.

Example: A claim of the type “Device according to claim 1, characterized in that…” is a dependent claim, since it refers to claim 1.

Interpretation of the independent claims: The protection granted by the application is determined by the independent claims. A device or method is considered an infringement of the patent if it comprises all the characteristics of at least one of the patent’s independent claims. All the patent attorney’s efforts thus aim to find a wording for these independent claims that covers not only the embodiment used by the applicant but also embodiments that could be implemented by competitors, whilst distinguishing as clearly as possible from the known prior art.
A set of claims can also comprise several independent claims that can be of a different category. An invention in the field of chemistry, for example, can comprise an independent claim for a new product and another independent claim for a method for making this new product. An invention in the field of electronics can include an independent claim for an encoder, another independent claim for an associated decoder and a third independent claim for the coding method used.
The dependent claims must be read and interpreted only in combination with the claims on which they depend. Their scope is thus always more limited than that of the main claims; they cannot be infringed if the claims on which they depend are not infringed. Their function is first and foremost to serve as fall-back strategy: in case the novelty or the inventive step of the main claim has been challenged, the applicant has the option of limited the protection to that afforded by the dependent claims.

The claims may be drafted in one or two parts:

Two-part claims: the form in two parts is prescribed for European and PCT application “whenever it is appropriate”. It is rather inadvisable in the USA.

Two-part claims comprise a preamble and a characterizing part separated by the expression “characterized in that” or “characterized by”. The preamble recites the claimed characteristics of the invention that have already been disclosed in a single prior art document. The preamble thus generally corresponds to the prior art that is closest to the invention. The characterizing part contains the new characteristics of the invention. The invention involves an inventive step only if the one skilled in the art were not able, through an obvious step, to also use these characteristics. The claim is considered infringed only if all the characteristics of the preamble AND those of the characterizing part are copied. A short claim, containing a minimum of characteristics, thus generally enjoys a greater scope of protection than a claim containing more elements.

Single-part claims: One-part claims make no explicit distinction between the known characteristics of the closest prior art and those that characterise the invention. The claims will advantageously be drafted so as to make it possible to determine as easily as possible whether a competing product constitutes an infringement or not. A special effort will thus be made to include first and foremost characteristics whose presence or absence will be easy to ascertain. It is generally preferably to adopt the single-part claim structure in those states that do not require a two-part structure, notably in the USA. The two-part claim, in fact, contains an implicit acknowledgement by the applicant that the characteristics of the preamble are already known; it may prove difficult to convince an examiner that a sufficient inventive activity is provided solely by the additional characteristics of the characterising part.

What file format is to be used for the figures?

A drawing is worth a thousand words! This is particularly true for patents or designs, where the quality of the figures is often critical in the scope of protection afforded to the patent.

Drawings used in patents and designs must however comply with strict standards for example in terms of the margins to be used, the thickness of the lines, the texts and numbers included in the figures, the numbering for the pages and for the figures, the use of colours and greyscale etc. As these standards are different from those generally used for technical or advertising drawings, it is necessary in nearly all cases for our draftsperson to create new figures. In order to reduce the costs and risks of error, it is however preferably to take over figures that already exist in electronic form and to modify them rather than starting from a blank slate.

Hereafter is a non-exhaustive list of the file formats that we can generally take over: Autocad: .dxf, .dwg SolidWorks: .sldprt / .sldasm / .slddrw Corel Draw: .cdr Adobe Illustrator: .ai Inventor: .ipt, .iam Catia Graphics: .crg Pro E: .prt, .xpr, .asm, .xas Solide Edge: .par, .psm Cadkey: .prt, .ckd Unigraphic: .prt Powerpoint: .ppt

In case of doubt, please do not hesitate to contact one of our patent attorneys.

costs for obtaining protection

The overall costs for obtaining a patent are constituted of several components and can vary considerably according to the invention and the chosen geographical coverage.

The costs for the first patent (patent issued from the priority application) will comprise costs for preparing and filing the application, various procedure fees and grant fees, including translation costs in the case of a European patent. Furthermore, annual maintenance fees must be paid after grant of the patent in order to keep the patent in force during a maximum period of 20 years.

At P&TS, the costs for preparing and filing the application are usually situated around CHF 4’000 for a simple application filed in Switzerland and up to CHF 15’000 or more for a complex international application preceded by a preliminary search. The costs incurred later during the course of the procedure will depend mostly on the results of the search report and on the ease with which the patent can be obtained. At each step of the procedure, we will gladly supply a cost estimate for pursuing the procedure.

The costs for obtaining patents abroad vary according to the countries. Translation costs, which often constitute an important portion of the total costs of obtaining protection of an invention on an international level, must also be taken into account. These costs are incurred generally 12 months after the priority date but can be deferred up to 30 months in the case of an international PCT application.

CONTACT

logo P&TS Intellectual Property

Contact P&TS

conditions d'obtention de brevet au niveau international

Voraussetzungen für die Erteilung von Patenten

Voraussetzungen für die Erteilung von Patenten

Neue Erfindungen, die eine erfinderische Tätigkeit aufweisen und sich für eine industrielle Anwendung eignen, können durch Patente für maximal 20 Jahre geschützt werden.

Die Erfindung kann zum Beispiel aus einem neuen Produkt, einer Methode, einem Herstellungsverfahren usw. bestehen. Die Voraussetzung der Neuheit gilt absolut: jede Offenbarung der Erfindung, sogar mündlich und durch den Erfinder selbst, verhindert eine spätere Patentierung. Es ist daher unabdingbar, dass die Erfindung absolut vertraulich bleibt, bis das Patent eingereicht wird. Die Erfindung sollte nicht banal und durch einen offensichtlichen Gedankengang erreichbar sein. Die zur Erlangung eines Patentes nötige erfinderische Tätigkeit ist jedoch moderat; ausserordentliche Erfindungen sind die Ausnahme und der technologische Fortschritt besteht aus kleinen sukzessiven Schritten. Falls solch eine sogar relativ kleine Neuerung einen Wettbewerbsvorteil einbringt, sollte die Firma die Möglichkeit der Monopolisierung durch ein Patent oder irgend eine andere Schutzmassnahme in Betracht ziehen.

Die industrielle Anwendbarkeit kann in jeder Art von Industrie – auch in der Landwirtschaft – realisiert werden. Verfahren in der Chirurgie, Therapie und medizinischen Diagnose werden jedoch nicht als industrielle Anwendungen eingestuft und sind daher vom Patentschutz ausgeschlossen. Entdeckungen, wissenschaftliche Theorien, ästhetische Kreationen, Spielregeln, wirtschaftliche Aktivitäten, die Präsentation von Information usw. gelten normalerweise nicht als Erfindungen.

Software als solche kann in Europa nicht geschützt werden. Die Rechtsprechung hat sich aber dergestalt entwickelt, dass nun in Europa viele Erfindungen, welche Computerprogramme implementieren, das Objekt von rechtsgültigen Patenten sein können.

Die Struktur einer Patentanmeldung folgt relativ strengen Regeln. Im Allgemeinen besteht ein Patent aus den folgenden Teilen:

Eine Zusammenfassung, welche das schnelle Finden des Patents, insbesondere in einer Datenbank, ermöglicht.

Eine Beschreibung, welche im Allgemeinen eine oder mehrere Figuren enthält und die in technischer Fachsprache ein Beispiel einer Ausführung der Erfindung genau beschreibt. Die Beschreibung muss es dem Spezialisten auf dem Gebiet erlauben, die Erfindung zu rekonstruieren.

Ein Satz Ansprüche, welche in einer eher juristischen Sprache den beanspruchten Schutz definieren. Der Schutzbereich umfasst generell sowohl das Beispiel der in der Beschreibung erläuterten Ausführung als auch andere zu geschützte Ausführungen.

Ausserdem enthält die Anmeldung oder das veröffentlichte Patent eine erste Seite mit bibliographischen Angaben.

Die Ansprüche

Für den Anmelder stellen die Ansprüche zweifellos den wichtigsten Teil eines Patents dar. Der erteilte Schutzumfang wird durch die Ansprüche bestimmt. Der Wortlaut der Ansprüche entscheidet daher, ob ein Konkurrenzprodukt eine Patentverletzung darstellt. Ein Satz von Ansprüchen weist normalerweise mindestens einen unabhängigen oder Oberanspruch auf, sowie mehrere abhängige oder Unteransprüche auf. Anspruch 1 ist immer ein unabhängiger Anspruch. Die abhängigen Ansprüche beziehen sich immer auf einen unabhängigen Anspruch oder einen anderen abhängigen Anspruch.

Beispiel: Ein Anspruch der Art „Vorrichtung gemäss Anspruch 1, dadurch gekennzeichnet, dass“ ist ein abhängiger Anspruch, da er sich auf den Anspruch 1 bezieht.

Auslegung der unabhängigen Ansprüche: Der durch Anwendung gewährte Schutz wird durch die unabhängigen Ansprüche bestimmt. Eine Vorrichtung oder ein Verfahren wird als eine Verletzung des Patents erachtet, falls sie bzw. es alle Merkmale von mindestens einem der unabhängigen Ansprüche des Patents aufweist. Es ist daher das klare Ziel des Patentanwalts, einen Wortlaut für die unabhängigen Ansprüche zu finden, der nicht nur die durch den Anmelder benutzte Ausführungsform abdeckt, sondern ebenfalls durch die Konkurrenz mögliche realisierbare  Ausführungsformen. Gleichzeitig sollen sich die unabhängigen Ansprüche so stark wie möglich vom bekannten Stand der Technik abheben.

Ein Satz von Ansprüchen kann ebenfalls mehrere unabhängige Ansprüche enthalten, die unterschiedlichen Kategorien angehören können. Eine Erfindung auf dem Gebiet der Chemie kann beispielsweise einen unabhängigen Anspruch für ein neues Produkt und einen weiteren unabhängigen Anspruch für ein Verfahren für die Herstellung dieses neuen Produkts umfassen. Eine Erfindung auf dem Gebiet der Elektronik kann einen unabhängigen Anspruch für einen Encoder beinhalten, einen weiteren unabhängigen Anspruch für einen assoziierten Decoder und einen dritten unabhängigen Anspruch für das benutzte Codeverfahren.

Die abhängigen Ansprüche dürfen nur in Verbindung mit den Ansprüchen, von denen sie abhängig sind, gelesen und interpretiert werden. Ihr Schutzumfang ist daher immer limitierter als derjenige der Hauptansprüche. Sie können nicht verletzt werden, falls die Ansprüche, von denen sie abhängig sind, nicht verletzt worden sind. Sie stellen vor allem ein zusätzliches Sicherheitsnetz dar: falls die Neuheit oder die erfinderische Tätigkeit eines unabhängigen Anspruchs in Frage gestellt wird, so hat der Anmelder die Möglichkeit, den Schutzumfang auf einen der abhängigen Ansprüche einzuschränken, der neu und erfinderisch ist.

Die Ansprüche können in ein- oder zweiteiliger Form verfasst werden:

Die zweiteilige Form ist für europäische und PCT Anmeldungen vorgeschrieben „wann immer angebracht“. Für die USA wird von dieser Form abgeraten.

Zweiteilige Ansprüche weisen einen einleitenden und einen kennzeichnenden Teil auf, welcher durch den Ausdruck „dadurch gekennzeichnet, dass“ getrennt ist. Der einleitende Teil listet die beanspruchten Merkmale der Erfindung auf, welche schon in einem einzigen Dokument aus dem Stand der Technik offenbart wurden. Der einleitende Teil entspricht daher im Allgemeinen dem Stand der Technik, welcher der Erfindung am ähnlichsten ist. Der kennzeichnende Teil enthält die neuen Merkmale der Erfindung. Die Erfindung beinhaltet nur dann eine erfinderische Tätigkeit, falls diese Merkmale für einen Fachmann auf dem Gebiet der Technik nicht naheliegend sind. Es wird nur dann von einer Verletzung des Anspruchs ausgegangen, wenn sämtliche Merkmale der Einleitung UND des kennzeichnenden Teils kopiert werden. Ein kurzer Anspruch, mit einem Minimum an Merkmalen, geniesst normalerweise einen umfangreicheren Schutz als ein Anspruch mit mehr Elementen.
In der einteiligen Form wird nicht explizit zwischen den bekannten Merkmalen, welche aus einem Stand der Technik Dokument bekannt sind, und denjenigen, welche die Erfindung kennzeichnen, unterschieden. Vorzugweise werden die Ansprüche so verfasst, um die Lesbarkeit zu fördern.Es ist normalerweise von Vorteil, die einteilige Form der Ansprüche in denjenigen Staaten zu benutzen, welche die zweiteilige Form nicht vorschreiben, so vor allem in den USA. Dort enthält die zweiteilige Form implizit die Bestätigung des Antragsstellers, dass die Merkmale der Einleitung schon bekannt sind. Es kann sich als schwierig erweisen, einen Prüfer zu überzeugen, dass eine genügende erfinderische Tätigkeit bloss durch die zusätzlichen Merkmale des kennzeichnenden Teils erreicht wird.

Welches Dateiformat soll benutzt werden?

Ein Bild sagt mehr als tausend Worte. Dies trifft insbesondere für Patente und Muster zu, wo die Qualität der Figuren oft mitentscheidend ist für den Schutzumfang, der für ein Patent gewährt wird.

Die Zeichnungen in Patenten und Mustern unterliegen jedoch strengen Normen – so beispielsweise für die zu benutzende Randbreite, die Liniendicke, die den Zeichnungen beigefügten Texte und Zahlen, die Nummerierung für Seiten und Figuren, die Benutzung von Farben und Grautönen usw. Da sich diese Normen von denjenigen, die im Allgemeinen für technische und Werbungszeichnungen gelten, unterscheiden, muss in der Mehrheit der Fälle unser Zeichner neue Figuren erstellen. Um die Kosten und Fehlerrisiken zu senken, werden vorzugsweise jedoch eher schon in elektronischer Form existierende Zeichnungen übernommen und dann angepasst, als dass Zeichnungen von Grund auf neu erstellt werden.

Nachfolgend ist eine nicht erschöpfende Liste von Dateiformaten, die wir üblicherweise übernehmen können: Autocad, .dxf, .dwg SolidWorks: .sldprt / .sldasm / .slddrw Corel Draw: .cdr Adobe Illustrator: .ai Inventor: .ipt, .iam Catia Graphics: .crg Pro E: .prt, .xpr, .asm, .xas Solide Edge: .par, .psm Cadkey: .prt, .ckd Unigraphic: .prt Powerpoint: .ppt

Falls Sie Fragen in Bezug auf Ihr Dateiformat haben nehmen Sie bitte Kontakt mit einem unserer Patentanwälte auf.

Kosten für den Schutz

Die Kosten für die Erlangung eines Patentes bestehen aus mehreren Komponenten und können je nach Erfindung und geographischer Abdeckung beträchtlich variieren.

Die Kosten für das erste Patent (Patent aus der Erstanmeldung) beinhalten die Vorbereitungs- und Anmeldekosten, verschiedene Verfahrenskosten sowie die Erteilungsgebühr einschliesslich der Übersetzungskosten im Falle eines europäischen Patentes. Zusätzlich sind nach der Patenterteilung Jahresgebühren zu entrichten, um das Patent für eine maximale Dauer von 20 Jahren aufrecht zu erhalten.

Bei P&TS bewegen sich die Kosten für die Vorbereitung und Anmeldung zwischen CHF 4‘000 für das Einreichen einer einfachen Anmeldung in der Schweiz und CHF 15‘000 oder mehr für eine komplexe internationale Anmeldung mit vorheriger Recherche. Zusätzliche spätere Auslagen während dem Verfahren hängen grösstenteils von den Nachforschungsresultaten ab, sowie von der Schwierigkeit, das Patent zu erlangen. Bei jedem Schritt des Verfahrens unterbreiten wir Ihnen gerne einen Kostenvoranschlag betreffend weitere Auslagen zur Fortsetzung des Verfahrens.

Die Kosten zum Erwerb eines Patentes unterscheiden sich je nach Land. Übersetzungskosten müssen in die Kostenabrechnung miteinbezogen werden; sie machen oft einen beträchtlichen Teil der Gesamtschutzkosten eines Patentes auf der internationalen Ebene aus. Diese Kosten treten normalerweise 12 Monate nach dem Prioritätsdatum auf, aber sie können bis auf 30 Monate im Fall eines internationalen Patentes gemäss PCT hinausgeschoben werden.

CONTACT

logo P&TS Intellectual Property

Contact P&TS

conditions d'obtention de brevet au niveau international